ISEC 2020 will host a Ph.D. Symposium for research scholars pursuing their Ph.D. in all areas given in the ISEC research track CFP. The Symposium aims to provide a friendly atmosphere for research scholars to discuss their work and interact with peers and other researchers in the area of software engineering. They can also obtain detailed and constructive feedback on their research problems and progress of work.

We invite papers in two categories :
Preliminary :
Research scholars submitting in this category should have identified a well-defined problem stetement for their Ph.D. work, potential approach(es) for its solution and possible ways of completing the work (evaluation methodology, metrics for success, target conferences to communicate their work etc.). Ph.D. students in the first three years of their research can submit papers in this category.
Mature :
Research scholars submitting in this category must present a well-defined problem, a concrete solution and evidence (theoretical, empirical etc.) to defend their approach. Ph.D. students anticipating to complete their doctoral dissertation in the next couple of years can submit papers in this category.

The authors must indicate their paper category (Preliminary/Mature) in their draft submission. It should be added as subtitle, for example "(Paper category: Preliminary)".

In both catetories above, submissions should not exceed four pages (including bibliography and appendix, if any) in standard ACM conference format.

Submission Link


Selected papers will be published as part of the conference proceedings and will be made available through the ACM Digital Library.

Travel Grants

Travel grants will be provided (subject to availability) for research scholars to attend the Ph.D. Symposium and the conference and present their work.


Raghavan Komondoor V, IISc Bangalore
Pankaj Vyas, Manipal University

Important Dates:

  • Paper submission deadline: 30 Nov. 2019, (23:59 AOE)
  • Notification of Acceptance: 25 Dec. 2019, (23:59 AOE)

PC Members

  • Akash Lal, Microsoft
  • Atul Gupta, IIITDM Jabalpur
  • Suvam Mukherjee, Microsoft
  • Uday P. Khedker, IIT Bombay
  • T. V. Prabhakar, IIT Kanpur
  • Swarnendu Biswas, IIT Kanpur
  • Lov Kumar, BITS Pilani, Hyderabad
  • Chittaranjan Mandal, IIT kharagpur
  • Girish Maskeri Rama, Siemens Research
  • Raveendra Kumar Medicherla, TCS
  • Manas Thakur, IIT Mandi